Projects were formerly known as boards.
Projects are an easy way to organise tasks or documents when you have multiple projects.
You can think of a Project as a container. When you select a Project, all Tasks/Documents are placed in that container. You can access all the Tasks/Documents in the active project, but you can't see or access Tasks/Documents in other containers. This means You can create a project and switch to it.
If you now create a Tasks/Documents, it will be created in that project. When you use
task list you will only see tasks created in this project. If you switch to any other project, the task you have just
won't be visible in the
task list because it was created in another project.
In the Knowledge Manager projects are used as a way to organise topics. They store topics, which are like folders and store documents.
To understand the concept of projects, take a look at this page.
The default project is called 'default'. It can't be deleted or renamed, but you can switch to it. It is active by default for everyone.
Personal projects are projects where you have full control over. If you create a personal project you will get all permissions granted to you.
So, if you create a personal project, you will get every permission granted to you. This means you can view, create, edit and delete all tasks/documents/topics in that project. Other users can't view tasks/documents/topics in your personal project, unless they have the required permissions in a global scope.
Personal projects can be managed by users with the required global permissions.